Becoming a real estate agent has been a highly coveted career choice for several years. Realtors get to make their own hours, they can earn an entire month’s paycheck with one successful sale and they get to socialize with all kinds of different people. You may have considered it yourself from time to time, and maybe even looked into the requirements. Although real estate license requirements are fairly similar in all 50 states there are usually a couple of nuances that vary from state to state. If you’re interested in becoming a realtor in Nevada there are five primary requirements: 1) You must be 18, 2) Complete 90 hours of education, 3) Pass a background check, 4) Pass the state exam and 5) Apply for a license. It might sound easy, but you might want to take a look at the Nevada real estate license requirements below if you’re serious about getting your license.
Must Be 18 Years of Age
In order to be a licensed realtor in Nevada, you must be at least 18 years of age by the time you take your licensing exam. You can take classes prior to taking the exam, but you must be 18 at the time of the examination.
Complete Required Education
There are a total of ninety (90) hours of required education in order to meet the Nevada real estate license requirements. The 90 hours are broken into two categories. You will need to take a total of 45 hours of real estate principles and 45 hours of real estate law to meet your educational requirements. All educational courses taken must be approved by the Nevada Real Estate Division.
Pass a Background Check
You will need to complete and pass a background check. A background check includes two separate fingerprint cards that are processed by a qualified government agency and they need to be submitted to the Department of Public Safety. Please note that you must successfully pass a background check within a year prior to applying for your Nevada real estate license.
Take the Nevada Real Estate License Exam
You must take the exam within 12 months of completing your education requirements. You must pass the Nevada real estate license state exam and the general exam after completing your 90 hours of education.
Apply for a Nevada Real Estate Salesperson License
You must have proof of successfully passing the license exam, and you must submit that along with your license application and any applicable fees.